Charles Mix County Board of Commissioners

Regular Session – November 5th, 2020 By Zoom Meeting

The Charles Mix County Board of Commissioners met in regular session on the 5th of November, 2020 at 11:00 am. Chairman – Neil Von Eschen opened the meeting by means of Zoom conference and called the meeting to order with Vice-Chairman – Nick Stotz, Commissioner – Keith Mushitz Auditor – Danielle Davenport, States Attorney – Steve Cotton, Deputy States Attorney – Craig Parkhurst and Colin Soukup present.

Agenda:

A motion was made by Stotz and seconded by Mushitz to approve the agenda as presented. All in favor, motion carried.

FEMA:

City of Platte Attorney – Tim Whalen and City of Platte Finance Officer – Shauna Meyerink met with the Commission to discuss the Platte Dam/Bridge that was damaged during the 2019 flooding DR4469. The City of Platte has been advised that due to the Easement currently in place with Charles Mix County that they cannot be the primary applicant. Whalen presented a Memorandum and Agreement that would designate Charles Mix County as the primary applicant. Changes to be made and presented again at the next meeting. No further action taken.

Easement:

States Attorney – Steven Cotton met with the Commission to present an Easement regarding a sewer project for the Pablo Garcia property. A motion was made by Stotz and seconded by Mushitz to approve the Easement as presented and have Chairman – Von Eschen sign. All in favor, motion carried. A copy of this Easement can be found in the Auditors Office.

Personnel:

Cotton requested that Deputy States Attorney – Parkhurst wages now be paid through payroll instead of contract through accounts payable. A motion was made by Stotz and seconded by Mushitz to approve the request with an annual salary of \$45,000 per year, SDRS retirement and Life Insurance benefits. Health Insurance to be waived. All in favor, motion carried.

Discussion was held regarding advertisement for an Administrative Assistant and the commencement of the States Attorney Office security project. No action taken.

Canvass of 2020 General Election:

The Board of Commissioners canvassed the 2020 General Election. A motion was made by Mushitz and seconded by Stotz to approve the results for Charles Mix County. All in favor, motion carried. Results are as followed:

Presidential Electors

Donald J. Trump and Michael R. Pence (REP) – 2,552 Jo Jorgensen and Jeremy "Spike" Cohen (LIB) – 54 Joseph R. Biden and Kamala Harris (DEM) – 1,177

United States Senator

Mike Rounds (REP) – 2,542 Dan Ahlers (DEM) – 1,259

United States Representative

Dusty Johnson (REP) – 2,921 Randy "Uriah" Luallin (LIB) – 703

Public Utilities Commissioner

Gary Hanson (REP) – 2,532 Devin Saxon (LIB) – 97 Remi W.B. Bald Eagle (DEM) – 1,036

State Senator District 21

Erin Tobin (REP) – 2,593

Dan Kerner Andersson (DEM) - 1,093

State Representative District 21

Rocky Blare (REP) – 1,898	
Caleb Finck (REP) – 1,845	
Jessica Hegge (DEM) – 1,620	
Supreme Court Retention: Shall Justice Steven Jensen Re	epresenting the First Supreme Court District, Whose
Term Expires January 1, 2021, Be Retained in Office?	
Yes – 2,670	
No – 744	
Constitutional Amendment A: An amendment to the Sou	uth Dakota Constitution to legalize, regulate, and tax
marijuana; and to require the Legislature to pass laws re	
marijuana for medical use.	9a. a 9 . a b a.a. a.a. a. a.a. a.
Yes – 1,678	
No – 2,036	
Constitutional Amendment B: An amendment to the Sou	ith Dakota Constitution authorizing the Legislature to
allow sports wagering in Deadwood.	tall ballotta constitution dutilonizing the registatore to
Yes – 1,867	
No – 1,832	
Initiated Measure 26: an initiated measure to legalize ma	ariiuana for medical use.
Yes – 2,317	urijaana 101 medicar doer
No – 1,426	
Public Comment:	
No public comments were heard. No action taken	1
Adjourn:	•
•	ushitz to adjourn until the regular session November 12th,
2020 at 10:00 am. All in favor, motion carried.	is the regular session wovernoer 12,
2020 at 10.00 am. Ammiriavor, motion carried.	
Noil Van Eschan, Chairman	Danielle Davennert Auditor
Neil Von Eschen, Chairman	Danielle Davenport, Auditor