LETTER TO THE PUBLIC AND NEWSPAPERS

January 13, 2022

Every 10 years, the United States conducts the Census to count all the people across the country to determine how many new people now live in certain areas and how many people may have left certain areas. This is also a time when we can evaluate the number of people living in each of our Charles Mix County Commissioner Districts. Charles Mix County currently has three commissioners elected in three different Districts across the County. It is the responsibility of the County to ensure that all the citizens are represented equally, within a few percentage points. The County's goal was to be as close to equal as possible with District 1 (southern and central areas of the County) having 3,108 people, District 2 (northeastern areas of the County) having 3,145 people.

After the County received the final counts from the 2020 Census, it was determined that District 2 and District 3 needed to be adjusted for population changes. District 1 was determined that no changes were needed. The County decided that moving all of Moore (East and West) Township from District 3 to District 2 as well as the remaining areas of Goose Lake Township from District 3 to District 2 would achieve a consistent balance across the three Districts. The County has maps available to show the changes from 2012 to the new 2022 Districts at the County Courthouse and the County Auditor as well as on the County's website at https://charlesmix.sdcounties.org. These changes will be effective for the 2022, 2024, 2026, 2028, and 2030 Primary and General Elections.

The County approved the First Reading of the proposed Redistricting Ordinance on December 23, 2021, and will be holding a Second Reading of the proposed Redistricting Ordinance on February 10, 2022, at the Charles Mix County Courthouse in the Commissioner Room at 10am. The County invites any and all citizens who are interested in discussing this change to please come to the meeting and share their input.

Nick Stotz, Commission Chairman Colin Soukup, Commission Vice Chairman Keith Mushitz, Commissioner